App builder pricing in 2026: what $20–40 a month actually buys
Entry prices look alike. The unit you pay in doesn't: credits per change, users per month, or apps per plan.
Leanfinit · 7 min read
Updated
The short answer
Most app builders start at $20–40 a month. The price is similar, but the meter isn't, and the meter decides your real bill:
- AI builders (Lovable, Replit, Base44, Bolt, v0, Emergent, Rork) charge per change, in credits or tokens. A quiet month is cheap; a month of fixes isn't.
- No-code builders (Bubble, Glide, Adalo, FlutterFlow, Thunkable) charge per plan, and the plan decides whether you can publish, use a custom domain or remove their branding.
- Business app tools (AppSheet, Softr) charge per user. Cheap for one person, expensive for a team.
Prices side by side
In USD, monthly billing unless stated. Sorted by the size of the company, largest first.
| Tool | Type | Free plan: the limit that matters | Cheapest paid plan (USD per month) | You pay per | Store publishing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lovable | AI builder | 5 credits a day, 30 a month; no code download, badge stays | Pro $25 (100 credits); $21 billed yearly | Credit per change | No (web apps) |
| Replit | AI builder | 1 published app, taken down after 30 days | Core $20; $18 billed yearly | Effort per checkpoint | No (web apps) |
| Base44 | AI builder | 25 message credits a month, max 5 a day | Starter $16 billed yearly (100 credits) | Message credit | Not stated |
| Emergent | AI builder | 10 credits a month | Standard $20 (100 credits) | Credit | Not stated |
| Bolt | AI builder | 1M tokens a month, Bolt branding, no custom domain | Pro from $25 (10M tokens) | Token | No (web apps) |
| v0 | AI builder | 7 messages a day | Plus $30 per user | Token | No (web apps) |
| Rork | AI builder, mobile | Design only, can’t build or publish | Pro $20 (100 credits) | Credit | Pro and above |
| Bubble | No-code | Can’t go live | Starter web $39; $32 billed yearly | Workload units | Mobile plans from $49 |
| Glide | No-code | 0 published apps | Basic $25 (100 credits) | Credit | No (web apps) |
| FlutterFlow | No-code | 2 projects, watermark, no code download | Basic $39 | Plan | Basic and above |
| Adalo | No-code | 500 records, web subdomain only | Builder $65; $52 billed yearly | Plan | Builder and above |
| Thunkable | No-code | 3 public projects, 5 screens each | Accelerator $19 | Plan + AI tokens | Not stated on page |
| Softr | Business apps | 5 app users in total, no custom domain | Basic $25; $19 billed yearly | Users | No (web apps) |
| AppSheet | Business apps | 10 test users | Starter $5 per user | Users | No |
| Leanfinit | Describe-and-use | Free during the beta, including web publishing | — | — | No (during the beta) |
Where the free plan really ends
Three walls repeat across the table:
- Going live. Bubble's free plan can't publish at all; Glide's free plan has 0 published apps; Replit keeps your one free app online for 30 days.
- Your name on it. A custom domain and removing “Made with …” branding start on the first paid plan for Lovable, Bolt, FlutterFlow and Softr.
- The store. Native iOS and Android publishing is a paid feature wherever it exists: FlutterFlow Basic, Adalo Builder, Bubble's mobile plans, Rork Pro. Apple's $99-a-year developer account comes on top.
For a one-person tool, the third wall often doesn't matter; here's why. And here is how to read a free plan for watermarks and caps.
What one small app costs in year one
Take one simple app for your own use, published on the web, changed a few times a month:
- AI builder, light use: one entry plan, $216–300 a year (Lovable Pro or Bolt Pro, yearly or monthly billing), plus top-ups in a busy month. Lovable top-ups are $15 per 50 credits.
- No-code builder: $384 a year for Bubble Starter web (billed yearly) to $624 for Adalo Builder (billed yearly), more for mobile.
- Per-user tools: $60 a year on AppSheet Starter for one person.
- Leanfinit: free during the beta.
Why credit-based plans vary so much month to month: the five pricing models explains the meters, and Lovable vs Bolt pricing works through the two in detail. For the full bill of an app you use yourself, see what it costs to have an app for your own use and the Lovable alternatives.
How to choose by meter, not by price
- Changing the app often → avoid per-change pricing, or budget for top-ups.
- Many people using it → avoid per-user pricing.
- Need it in the App Store → only plans with store publishing, plus Apple's fee.
- Only you will use it → look for a tool where using the app costs nothing, whatever the plan.
FAQ
How much does an app builder cost per month?
Entry plans are $16–65 a month in October 2026; most AI builders start at $20–25.
Which app builder is cheapest?
For one user, AppSheet Starter at $5 per user. For changing an AI-built app often, the real cost depends on credits used, not the plan price.
Do free app builders let you publish?
Rarely without limits: Bubble can't go live on free, Glide's free plan publishes no apps, Replit keeps a free app online for 30 days.
Is there a free app builder with no monthly fee?
Leanfinit is free during the beta, including publishing to the web.
Describe your own app →
Takes a few sentences. Private, yours.
“A simple order list for my shop: customer, item, pickup date, paid yes/no. Works offline. Today's pickups first.”
Sources
Prices and facts checked 27 October 2026
- Lovable docs: plans
- replit.com/pricing
- base44.com/pricing
- emergent.sh/pricing
- bolt.new/pricing
- v0.app/pricing
- Rork docs: subscriptions
- bubble.io/pricing
- glideapps.com/pricing
- flutterflow.io/pricing
- adalo.com/pricing
- thunkable.com/pricing
- Softr docs: plans
- AppSheet pricing
- Emergent, TechCrunch Feb 2026
- Lovable, Dealroom
- Replit, Sacra estimate
- Base44, Sacra estimate